It took one final save for Bradley Hamroff before the large contingent of Port Washington faithful packing the stands at Hofstra`s Shuart Stadium could let out a sigh of relief, on Monday May 31st.

It had been 27 years since the program`s last Nassau boys lacrosse championship and it took nearly every second Tuesday night to secure this one. Henry Haberman`s goal with 5:45 remaining opened up a two-goal lead and No. 2 Port Washington hung on to defeat No. 4 Syosset, 98, in front of a crowd of 2,500 to win the Nassau Class A title.

“I`m just so happy for the kids,” Port Washington coach Isaac Neal said. Hamroff finished the game with 13 saves and Zach Finkelstein made 11 stops for Syosset. Meyer had two goals and two assists and Haberman and Andy Feinstein each had two goals for Port Washington. This is a phenomenal night for all these kids standing here in the blue and white jerseys,” Neal said.