Home
Hempstead, NY – Hofstra University Head Men's Lacrosse Coach Seth Tierney today announced the Pride's 2018 schedule for his 12th season at the University. The upcoming 14-game schedule includes eight home games and four contests against teams that played in the 2017 NCAA Division I Men's Lacrosse Championship last May.

"We are excited about the challenges that our 2018 schedule will present," Tierney says. "We have a tough slate of contests that will require us to stay focused from the first game of the year to the last. We are anxious to start the new season and resume our goal to capture a CAA championship and a NCAA Championship berth."

The Pride, who finished 11-3 last season and ranked 16th in the final USILA Regular Season Coaches Poll and 18th in the final Inside Lacrosse/Nike Media Poll, begin the 2018 campaign on Saturday, February 17 against 2017 NCAA Championship finalist Ohio State in Columbus. The Buckeyes were 16-5 last season, losing to Maryland in the title game, 9-6.

Hofstra plays its first home game at James M. Shuart Stadium on Saturday, February 24 when the Pride host the Wildcats of Villanova at noon. After a Tuesday night battle at Long Island-rival Stony Brook on Tuesday, February 27, Hofstra starts a three-game homestand on Saturday, March 3 at 1 p.m. against the Hoyas of Georgetown, led by Pride alumnus Kevin Warne. The Tar Heels of North Carolina, who were selected to the 2017 NCAA Championship last May, visit Shuart Stadium on Saturday, March 10 at noon. Hofstra has successfully faced UNC the past two seasons in Chapel Hill. Another 2017 NCAA Tournament team comes to Shuart Stadium on Tuesday, March 13 when the Hawks of Monmouth face the Pride at 7 p.m. Monmouth, which was 14-4 last season, starts a three-game in eight-day period.

The Pride will travel to Rhode Island to face the Friars of Providence College on Saturday, March 17 for a St. Patrick's Day battle before returning home to face Lehigh on Tuesday, March 20 at 7 p.m. Hofstra faces another local rival in the Red Storm of St. John's on Saturday, March 24 in their final non-conference game of the year.

Hofstra begins its Colonial Athletic Association schedule and another three-game homestand on Saturday, March 31 when defending CAA champions and NCAA semifinalists, Towson, travels to Long Island for a 1 p.m. contest. The Stags of Fairfield come to Hofstra on Saturday night, April 7 before the Blue Hens of Delaware visit Shuart Stadium on Saturday, April 14 at 1 p.m.

The Pride close out the conference regular season with road games at Drexel on April 21 at 2 p.m. and at UMass on Friday, April 27 at 5 p.m. The four-team CAA Men's Lacrosse Championship Tournament will be held on Thursday and Saturday, May 3 and 5 at the site of the highest seed.

The NCAA Championship begins the following week with first round games on campuses while the NCAA Championship quarterfinals return to Hofstra on Saturday, May 19, and on May 20 at the U.S. Naval Academy's Navy-Marine Corps Memorial Stadium in Annapolis, Maryland. The NCAA Championship semifinals and championship game will be held at Gillette Stadium in Foxborough, Massachusetts on Saturday and Monday, May 26 and 28.

The Pride will also have two preseason scrimmage dates on Sunday, January 28 at Syracuse and Saturday, February 3 at Shuart Stadium.
© Back of THE CAGE