@BackOfTheCAGE
Player Spotlight: Laura Zimmerman

Interview by Megan Schneider

1. How would you describe your life on Wall Street?

I work in sales and trading for Bank of America Merrill Lynch, located in New [lacrosse] City. Our division is located on a trading floor, so it's a very loud, fast-paced environment. The floor itself is similar in size to a football field lined with rows of desks, and each salesperson or trader has 3-5 monitor screens and a pair of phones. Most days are pretty hectic – phones are constantly ringing and it's often you see people yelling across the floor to one another. The exciting part about the markets is it's unpredictable. Every day, you come in and there can be a news headline that sends things upside down, which makes the day-to-day very exciting.

There's a strong pipeline of lacrosse players on Wall Street and in New [lacrosse]. I think demographically, you have a decent amount of lacrosse players from the tri-state area that come back to the city once they graduate. Also, athletes in general tend to do very well in this business. The competitive nature, ability to handle adversity, and ability to multi-task all carry over from athletics into this career. Most skills directly translate from the field to the trading floor – direct communication, hustle, a drive to outperform and make your team better. It's very competitive and I see people who have been in this business for 20-plus years still get the adrenaline rush.

2. You have been a part of the U.S. team since 2010. You made the 2013 World Cup training roster, but fell short of the final roster, and now you're back in the mix for the 2017 World Cup. What keeps you coming back?