NILCA Names Steve Finnell as the 2012 Coach of the Year

St. Louis, MO - The National Interscholastic Lacrosse Coaches Association is pleased to announce Steve Finnell, head coach of Garden City High School, as the 2012 Coach of the Year.

Finnell led Garden City to an undefeated (22-0) 2012 season, the New [lacrosse] State Class B lacrosse championship, and the top ranking in the country. Coach Finnell came back to coach at his alma mater in 2003 joining then head coach Doc Dougherty's Staff as an assistant. He became head coach in 2007.

Finnell's Garden City lacrosse teams have won a record six straight Nassau County championships. In addition, they have captured the last three Long Island titles and have played in three state finals, culminating with last season's thrilling 11-4 triumph over Irondequoit. His teams have compiled a record of 109-19 while playing schedules laced with nationally-ranked teams.

Finnell is known for his outstanding knowledge of the game and his tireless preparation. He is an outstanding communicator, skills he uses not just on the field and in the classroom, but in his considerable dealings with the New [lacrosse] area media. His players and staff both like and respect their coach who, at 37, has already accomplished what few in his profession have done.

"We are thrilled to have named Coach Finnell as the NILCA Coach of the Year," said Ren Pettinelli, President of the National Interscholastic Lacrosse Coaches Association. "Finnell epitomizes everything a program could want in a coach, teacher, and mentor."

Finnell will be honored at the IMLCA meetings in December.
NILCA Announces Inaugural All-America Class for 2012 Season

St. Louis, MO - The National Interscholastic Lacrosse Coaches Association is pleased to announce their inaugural National All-America Class for the 2012 season. The inaugural class is represented by student-athletes from 10 states and the District of Columbia.

1st Team

Devin Dwyer Sr. A Garden City (NY) Harvard
Pat Kelly Sr. A Calvert Hall (MD) N. Carolina
Matt Rambo Jr. A La Salle College (PA) Maryland
Jake Froccaro Sr. M Port Washington (NY) Princeton
Will McNamara Sr. M Haverford (PA) Virginia
Steve Pontrello Sr. M St. Augustine (NJ) N. Carolina
Evan Connell Sr. D Calvert Hall (MD) N. Carolina
Bobby Duvnjak Sr. D Manhasset (NY) Harvard
Tanner Scales Sr. D Regis Jesuit (CO) Virginia
Dan Marino Sr. G Garden City (NY) Virginia

2nd Team

Bradlee Lord Sr. A Conestoga (PA) Maryland
Case Matheis Sr. A Darien (CT) Duke
James Pannell Sr. A Smithtown West (NY) Virginia
Deemer Class Sr. M Loyola Blakefield (MD) Duke
Stephen Kelly Jr. M Calvert Hall (MD) N. Carolina
Connor Reed Sr. M Gonzaga (DC) Johns Hopkins
Ryan Palasek Sr. D Rocky Point (NY) Syracuse
Will Reynolds Jr. D Delbarton School (NJ) Princeton
Miles Thomas Sr. D Conestoga (PA) Drexel
Kieran Burke Sr. G St. Anthony's (NY) N. Carolina

3rd Team

Ian Ardley Sr. A Deerfield Academy (MA) Harvard
Sam Llinares Sr. A Hauppauge (NY) Hofstra
Mikey Morris Sr. A Salisbury School (CT) Johns Hopkins
Brent Armstrong Sr. M St. Stephen's & St. Agnes (VA) N. Carolina
Michael Tagliaferri Sr. M San Ramon Valley (CA) N. Carolina
Zach Currier Jr. M Culver Military Academy (IN) Princeton
Jamie Ikeda Sr. D Conestoga (PA) Duke
Walker Kirby Sr. D Lawrenceville (NJ) Harvard
Mac Pons Jr. D Boys' Latin (MD) Maryland
Luke Aaron Sr. G Deerfield Academy(MA) Duke
© Back of THE CAGE