The Chesapeake Bayhawks squared up against the Atlanta Blaze in the first MLL Semifinal on Friday. After a slow start, the Bayhawk's chances of advancing to the Championship seemed minimal. MVP candidate, Lyle Thompson was held to only 2 assists in the first half with stout defensive play by Blaze defenseman, Leo Stouros.

Following halftime, Chesapeake turned it up a notch scoring seven or the first eight goals. Thompson and the Bayhawk's started to heat up. Ryan Tucker and Thompson both scored two goals apiece in the 3rd quarter and Thompson then registered his hat-trick in the 4th quarter with 5 minutes remaining leaving the 'Hawks trailing 13-11. Randy Staats found the back of the cage making it a one-goal game and then TJ Comizio, the rookie, scored the tying goal with 29 seconds left in regulation to send it overtime. In OT, Steele Stanwick scored the game-winning goal to send the Bayhawks to the 2019 MLL Championship Game.

in the second MLL Semifinal on Friday, the Denver Outlaws faced off against the Boston Cannons at Peter Barton Lacrosse Stadium in Denver. Like the Bayhawks, the Outlaws got off to a slow start trailing 10-4 after a little over 20 minutes of play. Denver would score four of the next five goals to get them back into the game.

Three consecutive goals scored by the 14-year veteran and all-time MLL points leader, John Grant Jr. was climacteric that invigorated the crowd and his teammates as the score then became even at 14. The Outlaws scored the game's final three goals to secure their spot in the 2019 MLL Championship game.

The Denver Outlaws and Chesapeake Bayhawks are playing in the 2019 Major League Lacrosse (MLL) Championship on Sunday at D ick's Sporting Goods Park on ESPN 2 at 1:00 P.M. EDT/ 11:00 A.M. MDT.