What remains to be seen is how the state divides the numbers for lacrosse, which has had three divisions, A, B and C, for years and now will add Class D.

Most team sports in New [lacrosse] compete in five classes.

The basic enrollment (beds) numbers for the divisions are:

Class AA (910 and above);

Class A (480-908);

Class B (280-479);

Class C (170-279;

Class D (169 and under).

Some sports, such as football, have different numbers.

One sport that uses four classifications is cross country. Those numbers are:

Class A (911 and above);

Class B (470-910);

Class C (260-469);

Class D (259 and below).

I tried to capture the spirit of the thing